Preschool Storytime: Clouds, Shaving Cream, Shapes and Letters

preschool storytimeChildren ages three to five (with caring adult) build the early literacy skills needed for school readiness through engaging books, songs and activities.

For this week’s storytime, I decided to integrate some of the changes that I learned in my most recent storytime training (you can read more about here), in particular cutting down and changing my tip, and using an activity rather than a craft.

Our Preschool Storytime is two groups, one at 9:30, and one at 10:30, so I’ve started changing the activity/craft so that the turnaround between the two groups is doable.

  Early Literacy Tip : Shapes now become letters later, so talking about shapes is always awesome—even in a book that’s not a “shapes” book.

9:30 am Activity:Shaving Cream

Drawing shapes and letters in the shaving cream bag.

10:30 am Activity:

LTP-West-057.jpg

 

 16650266 123901 293595

 

 

Storytime Outline

 Housekeeping: Doors, Emergency Exits, Participation

Opening Song Wave My Hands (Welcome Song)

I wave my hands like this, I wave my hands like that
I clap my hands together, I wave my hands like this.
Clap, clap, clap your hands together,
Clap them high, Clap them low, Clap your hands together.
Tap, Tap, Tap your toes, tap your toes together
Tap them fast, tap them sloooow, tap your feet together.

Book Count the Monkeys by Mac Barnett
Flannel Board Shape House
Calming Song Open, Shut Them
Book Little Cloud by Eric Carle
Preschool Activity Do You Know What Shape This Is (To the tune of: Do You Know The Muffin Man)

Do you know what shape this is? What shape this is? What shape this is?

Do you know what shape this is, I’m holding in my hand?

Note: Hold up a different shape each time and have your children yell out the shape.

After Storytime Note: Hold up the Shape after you are finished singing the song so that kids don’t shout out the entire time

Fingerplay Tommy Thumbs
Book/Activity Chicka Chicka Boom Boom (with Sign Language)
Movement Song Song Cube/ Bananas
Bonus Book It Looked Like Spilt Milk by Charleas G. Shaw

After Storytime Note: We didn’t finish this book, but I always leave one in in case they are prepared for another.

Goodbye Song

@ 9:50 am

The More We Come Together (with Sign)
Craft Shaving Cream, Writing

 

Do You Know What Shape This Is

(Tune of: Do You Know The Muffin Man)

 Do you know what shape this is?

What shape this is?

What shape this is?

Do you know what shape this is, I’m holding in my hand?

Note: Hold up a different shape each time and have your children yell out the shape.

  

SONG CUBE (Learn more about it here!)

Ants Go Marching

The ants go marching one by one, hurrah, hurrah

The ants go marching one by one, hurrah, hurrah
The ants go marching one by one,
The little one stops to suck his thumb
And they all go marching down to the ground
To get out of the rain, BOOM! BOOM! BOOM!

The ants go marching two by two

The little one stops to tie his shoe

The ants go marching three by three,

The little one stops to climb a tree

The ants go marching four by four

The little one stops to shut the door

The ants go marching five by five,

The little one stops to take a dive

 

Banana Song

Everyone stand up!
Bananas unite! (place hands together straight up over head)
Pick bananas, pick, pick bananas (reach up and pick bananas from a tree)
Peel bananas, peel, peel bananas (peel a banana in your hand)
Smash bananas, smash, smash bananas (clap hands)
Eat bananas, eat, eat bananas (stuff banana in mouth and sing with mouth full)
Go bananas, go, go bananas! (do a crazy dance)

 

This Little Piggy

This little piggy went to market,

This little piggy stayed at home,

This little piggy had roast beef,

This little piggy had none.

And this little piggy went…

“Wee wee wee” all the way home…

 Mary Had a Little Lamb

Mary had a little lamb,

Little lamb , little lamb ,

Mary had a little lamb,

Its fleece was white as snow.

 

I’m a Little Teapot

I’m a little teapot, short and stout

Here is my handle, here is my spout

When I get all steamed up, here me shout

Then tip me over and pour me out

Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes

Head, shoulders, knees and toes, knees and toes

Head, shoulders, knees and toes, knees and toes

And eyes and ears and mouth and nose

Head, shoulders, knees and toes, knees and toes

This entry was posted in Early Literacy, Preschool, Programming and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

