Preschool Storytime: School Readiness (Animals and Dinos)

preschool storytime

Don’t limit yourself always with themes! In this storytime I combined a couple of types of books that I like to create something super awesome!

Preschool Storytime: Children ages three to five (with caring adult) build the early literacy skills needed for school readiness through engaging books, songs and activities.

My cart set up the night before: StorytimeCart

Early Literacy  Tips Explain Today we’re going to focus on activities that help our young ones to learn to self-regulate and follow instructions. A lot of our activities today also have animal noises, which help build on phonological awareness.
Opening Song Wave My Hands
Book Dinosaurompous
Flannel Board/Activity

5littleducks

5 Little Ducks
5 Little Ducks went out one day,
Over the hill and far away,
And the mother duck said QUACK QUACK QUACK QUACK,
And 4 Little Ducks came running back.
3…2…1…none.
Then I told the kids they couldn’t hear momma duck, could they help me? And they were very loud quakers, and then I told them that they scared the ducks, and that they needed to be very quiet. We quacked quietly and 

All little ducks came running back!

Calming Song Open, Shut Them
Book
Calming Fingerplay I have ten fingers
Early Literacy  Tips Example Activities like the ones we are about to do helps kids practice following instructions and build gross motor skills
Activity Toss Your Scarves
Book The Cow Buzzed by Andrea Zimmerman and David Clemesha
Fingerplay Old MacDonald
Book Dinosaur Zoom by Penny Dale
Movement Song/Song Cubesong cube Song Cube**

spider = a spider for “Itsy Bitsy Spider”
star = a star for “Twinkle Twinkle”
bus = a schoolbus for “Wheels on the Bus”
sheep = a black sheep for “Baa Baa Black Sheep”*below
boat = a rowboat for “Row Row Row Your Boat”
hands = two hands for “If You’re Happy and You Know It”

Music/Shaker Eggs Silly Dance Contest
Early Literacy Empower Songs like this one, red light green light, and other stop and go activities help kids to learn self moderation, which helps with school.
Goodbye Song or More Dancing The More We Get Together (with sign language)
Craft Based on Dinosaur Zoom:
Dinosaur and Cars Coloring/Gluing Pages

 **Song Cube can be found at this link: Storytime Underground: How to Make a Song Cube**

Fingerplays and Songs

Wave My Hands (Welcome Song)

I wave my hands like this, I wave my hands like that
I clap my hands together, I wave my hands like this.
Clap, clap, clap your hands together,
Clap them high, Clap them low, Clap your hands together.
Tap, Tap, Tap your toes, tap your toes together
Tap them fast, tap them sloooow, tap your feet together.

I Have Ten Fingers (Calming fingerplay)

I have ten fingers, and they all belong to me. (wiggle fingers)
I can make them do things, would you like to see?
I can shut them tight, I can open them wide.
(close fists, open hands)
I can put them together, I can make them hide.
(cross fingers) (put them behind back)
I can make them fly high, I can make them fly low.
(put fingers in air, touch the ground)
I can fold them like this, and hold them just so.
(fold hands and place in lap)

Open, Shut Them (Calming Fingerplay)

Open, shut them, open shut them
Give a little clap, clap, clap
Open shut them, open shut them
Put them in your lap, lap, lap
Creep them, creep them, slowly creep them
Right up to your chin, chin, chin
Open up your little mouth,
But do not let them in!
My head is quiet, my shoulders are quiet, my knees …, my lips…
My hands are in my lap, and now I am ready for another story.

 

Itsy-Bitsy Spider

The itsy-spider went up the water spout,
(walk fingers up in the air)
Down came the rain and washed the spider out. (wiggle fingers downward to make the rain)
Out came the sun and dried up all the rain,
(form a circle with above your head)
And the itsy-bitsy spider went up the spout again.
(walk your fingers up again).

 I’m a Little Teapot
I’m a little teapot
Short and Stout
Here is my handle,
Here is my spout
When I get all steamed up,
Hear me shout,
Just tip me over,
And pour me out.

Row, Row, Row Your Boat

Row, row, row your boat,
Gently down the stream
Merrily, merrily, merrily, merrily
Life is but a dream.

Craft

Coloring a car, and gluing a pre-cut brontosaurus riding a pre-cut choice of car/truck/motorcycle.

This entry was posted in Preschool, Programming and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

