Summer Reading Club: Super Windows!

SRC Inspiration and Theme

This years summer reading theme through most of the country is Every Hero Has a Story. Annapolis really got into the swing of things when I pulled together some window painting!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Inspiration: Super Hero Post-It Mural

http://imgur.com/a/3TxjM

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Long story short—we don’t have the budget for that many post its, and I wanted to paint the windows!!

Using those people as templates, I created super and community heroes that would fit in our own windows:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Process:

Supplies:

  • The paint you buy must have good pigment (can’t be super cheap)… My iron man is pretty pink during the day. That’s the only paint I didn’t buy for the project specifically. I think I spent 15 dollars total on good paint. So I should have spent (2?) more on red as well.
  • ¼ inch tape works best otherwise the character gets a little lost, I’m redoing the police lady for that reason. I got three for 10.89, and it takes about one and a quarter roll for my windows for each.

How to:

Our mascot, Sneaks is coming up next.

super-sneaks-main-2015

  • Measure your windows, you may have to change the shapes of some of the heroes to fit— the smallest squares I’ve gone with have been 1 3/4, which turns out to be 1 ½ once the tape has been applied. Number them with a dry erase marker, so that you can make adjustments.
  • You can change any of these images with the fill bucket in Paint to fit the windows like I did with the police woman, and Iron Man. (both lost some width to fit on our windows.)
  • Measure it out with a ruler & dry erase marker (on each side and on top) so that you can create the grid before you put up the tape.

image001

  • Print out the image from paint and number the grid (and the tape) with a sharpie like this:

11406840_10153028162242881_2242681176753980604_n

  • First go through and dab the paint where that color will be. I used black first as the outline.
  • As you fill the space pull the tape, if possible, when it is still wet so it doesn’t crack.
Super Sneaks

Super Sneaks

If you so choose to, enjoy!

This entry was posted in Kids, Programming, Public Library and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

