Reader’s Advisory: Book Review, “After the End” by Amy Plum

AftertheEndI have no idea what is truth and what is fiction. I’m all I’ve got now. I can’t trust anyone.”

World War III has left the world ravaged by nuclear radiation. A lucky few escaped to the Alaskan wilderness. They’ve survived for the last thirty years by living off the land, being one with nature, and hiding from whoever else might still be out there.

At least, this is what Juneau has been told her entire life.

REVIEW

4 Stars

I was completely entranced by this story, but for the life of me, I cannot figure out why. The story has a strong romantic theme (boy seeks out girl for nefarious purpose, boy meets girl, boy falls entirely in love with girl, boy attempts to save girl) which I usually really hate. I enjoyed the post-apocalyptic lie (which I was pleased to find came out rather quickly in the story), the description of “roughing it” and the description of the journey and self discovery. Written well for a YA book, minus some stilted dialogue. I feel compelled to rate it highly, but I can’t really verbalize what drew me in so thoroughly.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Preschool, Readers Advisory and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

