Preschool Storytime – Butterflies & Print Awareness

preschool storytime

In this storytime, you can see that I chose movement activities and fingerplays that were based off of well-known songs. If you love themes, this can be a good way to keep a theme going without holding yourself up with looking for completely new things. Both kids and parents love repetition!

Preschool Storytime: Children ages three to five (with caring adult) build the early literacy skills needed for school readiness through engaging books, songs and activities.

Outline:

Early Literacy Explain Print awareness includes knowing how to handle a book and noticing print all around us. It is one of the skills researchers say is important to know before children learn to read. As you talk, sing, read, play and write with your children throughout the day, you can find ways to help your children to be aware of print. I’ll point out some of the ways you can do this in storytime today..
Opening Song Wave My Hands
Book “Caterpillow Fight” by Sam McBratney
Flannel Board Caterpillars (Suzanne’s Desk)
Calming Song Open, Shut Them
Book “Butterfly, Butterfly” by Peter Horacek
Calming Fingerplay I have ten fingers
Early Literacy Example As I read this story, I will point to some of the words as we read them. I Not just to help us read together, but also because pointing to the words helps children understand that we are reading the text, not the pictures.
Book “The Very Hungry Caterpillar” by Eric Carle
Fingerplay Two Little Butterflies
Book “Caterpillar’s Wish” by Mary Elizabeth Murphy
Movement Song Little Butterfly
Movement Song Flap, Flap, Flap Your Wings
Music/Shaker Eggs # 2 Shakey Shakey; CD: The Wiggles, Yummy Yummy
Early Literacy Empower When you read with your children, from time to time hold the book upside down or backward. See if children notice that it is upside down. If not, point it out. Children need to know how to hold a book, which part is the cover, which part is the back of the book. This is one fun way to find out if they know this; it is part of being ready to read.
Goodbye Song or More Dancing CD: The Wiggles, Yummy Yummy
Craft Toilet Paper Roll Caterpillars

Fingerplays and Songs

Wave My Hands (Welcome Song)

I wave my hands like this, I wave my hands like that
I clap my hands together, I wave my hands like this.
Clap, clap, clap your hands together,
Clap them high, Clap them low, Clap your hands together.
Tap, Tap, Tap your toes, tap your toes together
Tap them fast, tap them sloooow, tap your feet together.

I Have Ten Fingers (Calming fingerplay)

I have ten fingers, and they all belong to me. (wiggle fingers)
I can make them do things, would you like to see?
I can shut them tight, I can open them wide.
(close fists, open hands)
I can put them together, I can make them hide.
(cross fingers) (put them behind back)
I can make them fly high, I can make them fly low.
(put fingers in air, touch the ground)
I can fold them like this, and hold them just so.
(fold hands and place in lap)

Open, Shut Them (Calming Fingerplay)

Open, shut them, open shut them
Give a little clap, clap, clap
Open shut them, open shut them
Put them in your lap, lap, lap
Creep crawl them, creep them crawl them,
Right up to your chin, chin, chin

Open up your little mouth,
But do not let them in!
My head is quiet, my shoulders, my knees, my lips
My hands are in my lap, and now you are ready for another story.

 Two Little Butterflies 
Two little butterflies, flying left and right
(Flap hands, move them to the left and the right)
Two little butterflies are quite a sight.
Two little butterflies flying up to the sun
(Flap hands while stretching up.)
Two little butterflies flying down.
(Flap hands children while bending down.)
Two little butterflies are flying to the back
(Flap hands behind back.)
Two little butterflies are coming back.
(Flap hands to the front.)
Two little butterflies are flying all around
(Flap hands any movement.)
Two little butterflies are sitting on the ground.
(Sit down with hands on legs.)

 Little Butterfly (sung to I’m A Little Teapot)

I’m a little butterfly
I have wings
I fly around
And see all things.
When I see a flower
That looks great
I call out

To all of my mates.

 Flap, Flap, Flap your Wings 

(Row, Row, Row your Boat)
Flap, flap, flap your wings,
gently through the sky,
merrily, merrily, merrily, merrily,
oh, to be a butterfly.

Craft: Butterfly

This entry was posted in Early Literacy, Preschool, Programming, Public Library and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

