Toddler Storytime: Penguins!

Because I’m doing my Storytime in the Pittsburgh area, it shouldn’t be a surprise that my Penguin Storytime was a huge hit! On these hot days, and because my library has no air conditioning, even I’ve been missing the chilly Pittsburgh Winters.

I was super excited while digging around in the back room to stumble upon some fantastic penguin stickers, stuffed animals and other treats. I also perused Pinterest for some “Winter in Summer” ideas.

Books:

A Penguin Story – Antoinette Portis (Author, Illustrator)

http://images.landofnod.com/is/image/LandOfNod/PenguinStory_BK?$zm$

Penguin- Polly Dunbar

Songs:

I’m a Little Penguin

(to the tune of “I’m a Little Teapot”)

I’m a little penguin Black and white, Short and wobbly An adorable sight. I can’t fly at all But I love to swim, So I’ll waddle to the water And dive right in!

Activities:

Create A Circle Penguin!

I made my penguins a little differently, and since many of my young ones can’t cut with scissors yet, I premade all of the circles.

2013-06-12 10.58.48

Here are some pictures of their penguins when we were done!

2013-06-12 10.58.02 2013-06-12 11.23.58 2013-06-12 11.24.03 2013-06-12 11.24.08

Activity: Summer Snow!!

2013-06-12 11.23.33 2013-06-12 11.23.24

Suggested Reading:

And Tango Makes Three- Peter Parnell and Justin Richardson

Starting in my Summer Storytimes, I began pulling other “related reading” books as suggestions for parents (and grandparents) to take home to their kids at home!

Other Toddler Storytime Posts

This entry was posted in Kids, Preschool, Programming, Public Library and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

