On Men, Elevator Speeches, and Market Segments

Although sometimes I feel like people are pushing elevator speeches on me, I thought this was a poignant commentary about bringing male patrons into the library. I’m constantly trying to introduce non-novel librarianship to my friends and family, to varying levels of success. Targeting my “elevator speech” may help me with this.

On Men, Elevator Speeches, and Market Segments

I should have suggested to the man with the Kindle that, with a librarian as his guide, he might discover many other authors that might interest him. I might have said to him, ”If you enjoy Griffin you might enjoy knowing you can “check out” Griffin books on your ereader for free from the library website.” If he were a commuter, he might enjoy listening to Griffin on audiobook. And if he ran out of books to read, he could turn to his librarian for suggestions for new, but similar, authors to read…
Quote | This entry was posted in Academic Library, Libraries in Media, Outreach, Public Library and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

