Babies In Bloom: Background Knowledge

BIBBabies from birth to 18 month (with caring adult) enjoy songs, action rhymes and playtime while building early literacy skills. A great way to get to know other families in your community!

Housekeeping:Welcome to an AACPL Early literacy storytime. My name is Ms. Elaine. Don’t worry about wandering babies, please feel free to step outside if they need a break, and rejoin once they are ready. For now, it doesn’t matter whether your children follow along. If your babies see you play along they’ll want to copy you so please silence any cell phones and try to keep conversation until the social time afterwards.

Opening Song Everybody Wave Hello (Silly Hands Verse)
Aside 1

Explain

Today we’re going to talk about Background Knowledge, which our babies are constantly picking up in their day to day life. The more experiences children have young, the more reference points they’ll have when they learn to read.
Rhyme Merry Go Round (standing rhyme)**
Flannelboard Snow-Related Flannel
Rhyme Baby Goes Bumpy Boo
Song Baby Hokey Pokey
Aside 2

Example

We’re doing a few new activities, like a standing rhyme and activities with scarves to develop background knowledge. While we’re doing these activities, you can talk about the color of the scarves, the texture or anything after our next rhyme. Grab a scarf!  (pass out)
Rhyme Oh Where Oh Where Has My Little ____ Gone (with scarves)
Book Itsy Bitsy Spider (BIB Choral Reading Board Books)
Rhyme I Bounce You Here
Aside 3

Empower

When you’re at home, you can encourage background knowledge with your children by describing the things they’re interacting with on a day to day basis and trying new things.
Rhyme Bubble Song
Bubbles/Song Song: Under The Sea (Little Mermaid)
Ending Song Shake My Sillies Out!  (Raffi Live- 12),

Add remaining instruments, balls, toys

Lyrics and Plan

Everybody Wave Hello
Everybody wave hello.
Wave hello. Wave hello.
Everybody wave hello.
Lets have some fun!

Now let me see those SILLY HANDS

(Aside: Explain)

 Flannelboard: 5 Little Sheep

Merry Go Round (Standing Rhyme)
Merry Go Round, Merry Go Round (bouncing child)
We go riding all around (turn)
First we go up (lift baby up)
hen we go down (bring baby down)
We go riding all around (turn in a circle)
Baby Goes Bumpy Boo
Tune: Here We Go Loopy Loo
Here we go bumpy boo.
Baby goes bumpy bye.
Baby goes bumpy bee.
On top of my knee.

I bounce you to the left.
I bounce you to the right.
I bounce you up and down.
I bounce you out of sight.

Baby goes bumpy boo.
Baby goes bumpy bye.
Baby goes bumpy bee.
On top of my knee.

I bounce you very fast.
I bounce you very slow.
I bounce you up and down.

Baby Hokey Pokey (iPad)

(Aside: Example)

Oh Where Oh Where Has My Little ___ Gone?

(Put scarf over body part and sing to tune of Oh where oh where has my little dog gone)

 Oh where, Oh Where, has my little head  gone?
Oh Where oh where could it be?
Oh where, Oh Where, has my little head  gone?
Oh where oh where could it be?
One… two… three…. HERE IT IS!

Foot, arm, tummy, legs

I Bounce You Here
I bounce you here, I bounce you there,
(bounce child on knees)
I bounce you, bounce you, everywhere.

I tickle you here, I tickle you there,
(gently tickle child)
I tickle you, tickle you, everywhere.

I hug you here, I hug you there,
(hug child)
I hug you, hug you, everywhere!

(Aside: Empower)

Bubble Song
There are bubbles in the air, in the air.
Pop! Pop!
There are bubbles in the air, in the air.
Pop! Pop!
There are bubbles in the air, there are bubbles everywhere.
There are bubbles in the air, in the air.
Pop! Pop!

(There are bubbles on the floor)

(There are bubbles on my toes)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

